STS9 Will Be Releasing First Album in 7 Years, “The Universe Inside”

STS9 will be releasing their first album in almost 7 years titled “The Universe Inside” via their own record label, 1320 Records. The livetronica band’s album will consist of 13 tracks and continues their stylistic exploration in the studio.

It will also feature the debut of their new bassist Alana Rocklin, and will be released on September 2nd.

The members of STS9 went through a lot over the course of making this record.

  • Hunter Brown — Guitar / Sequences
  • Jeffree Lerner — Percussion
  • David Phipps — Keyboards / Synths
  • Zach Velmer — Drums
  • Alana Rocklin — Bass

In order to connect and express something more direct than they could with the music alone, the band chose to utilize more lyrics than they have on any of their previous efforts. It’s an album about human identity and the magical truth of who we are, where we’re going, and our place in the Universe.

“The Universe Inside” comes on the cusp of STS9‘s 20th Anniversary and in the midst of their appearances on the summer festival circuit.

STS9 The Universe Inside
STS9 The Universe Inside

The album’s first single “Get Loud” is a collaboration with singer/songwriter Betty Idol and acclaimed production team the J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League. Envisioned as a throwback from the future, the song is an ode to the musicians and producers that STS9 grew up loving.

Like much of the band’s work, it features a rallying cry disguised as a dance hook. The lyrics are a call to “let it lift you up,” “say it proud,” and stand up for justice and civil rights.

“The Universe Inside” opens with “Supercluster,” which samples the original NASA STS-9 radio transmission and represents the band’s return from a journey that began with their 1998 debut, Interplanetary Escape Vehicle. The first words that are heard are a shout out to STS9’s home, and muse, California.

Track List for STS9 The Universe Inside:

  1. Supercluster
  2. Out of This World
  3. Get Loud
  4. Light Years
  5. Totem
  6. World Go Round
  7. Give & Take
  8. Elsewhere
  9. Sun, Moon & Stars
  10. New Dawn, New Day
  11. Worry No More
  12. Common Descent
  13. The Universe Inside
STS9 Live Performance via Facebook
STS9 Live Performance via Facebook

Follow STS9: