Opiuo Releases Live Album From His Iconic Red Rocks Performance: “Opiuo & The Opulent Orchestra”

New Zealand born, Australia based celebrated electronic maestro, Opiuo, released a live music marvel: Opiuo & The Opulent Orchestra via his label Slurp Music. This complete 19-track digital album boasts 16 electrifying orchestral arrangements seamlessly married with Opiuo’s iconic funk-infused basslines, recorded live from his unforgettable sell-out performance at Red Rocks Amphitheatre in May 2023.

These live reinventions are perfectly complemented by 3 original bonus tracks. The debut single, CONDUCT-A-DISCO has a captivating and suspenseful feel-good atmosphere . Accompanying this release, fans can soon relish in the entire live concert experience.

Opiuo shares on the performance,“Quite possibly the most audacious project I have ever undertaken. My Red Rocks show with The Opulent Orchestra has become a defining moment for myself. Conducting the 22 musicians in front of a sold out audience; developing, designing & operating the video & lasers; plus many months of work writing the music, then mixing the entire show; I honestly feel extremely proud of this album and can confidently say it’s some of my best work yet!”

Opiuo Red Rocks
Opiuo Red Rocks

‘Opiuo & The Opulent Orchestra’ is a dynamic reimagining of Opiuo’s discography, providing an excitingly fresh perspective. This ALBUM brings together a diverse range of talents, featuring members of the Colorado Symphony Orchestra and a special collaboration with Grammy-nominated instrumentalist, Tom Hagerman. Together, they create a uniquely distinctive auditory journey that stands apart from any comparison. 

The album offers a symphonic reinterpretation of Opiuo’s celebrated classics. “BAM BAM,” the beloved collaboration with CloZee, is reborn in opulent style, as signature funkadelic basslines converse fluently with intricate orchestral elements. Similarly, “DUSTY BUGS”, originally co-produced with Vorso, now dances to hypnotically driving, compelling orchestral rhythms, and “ON YOUR SIDE,” initially featuring saxophone from  Russ Liquid, is now accentuated with the grandeur of a large, poignant brass ensemble.

The collaborative essence of Opiuo’s work shines even brighter in Opiuo & The Opulent Orchestra. Tracks like “FALLING“, a cover of an original song by Deathpact, “CANDY” & “BASH PLATE” co-produced with fellow Kiwi, Ashez, “HIGHER” crafted alongside Big Gigantic & The Funk Hunters, and “ENDLESS DREAM” in collaboration with Z.I.V  & MOONZz , are all re-envisioned with a lushly layered, expressive orchestral touch. Augmenting the album’s launch is the catchy single “CONDUCT-A-DISCO,” and fans can also anticipate orchestral reinterpretations of other Opiuo classics such as “FLAPJACK,” “JELLY,” and “SNORKLE .”

The orchestral concept began in 2018 when Opiuo envisioned crafting an enhanced experience for his devoted, diversified fanbase, spanning longtime ravers and fresh faces in the scene only just now discovering his timelessly classic catalogue. His music evokes a sense of playfulness, movement, and nostalgia for some, while providing an extremely unique and unparalleled auditory experience.

Fans can now immerse themselves in the mesmerizing Opiuo & The Opulent Orchestra performance at the legendary Red Rocks Amphitheatre, available for viewing on Opiuo’s YouTube. This captivating show blends exceptional musical talent, an explosively colorful laser and video show designed by Opiuo himself, with the stunning Red Rocks backdrop, promising an emotive & enchanting experience for all.

Stay tuned for more details and get ready to secure your tickets to witness an Opiuo performance in a city near you. For more information on Opiuo and the full list of tour dates, be sure to visit our website: https://opiuo.com

‘Opiuo & The Opulent Orchestra’ Tracklist

Live From Red Rocks Amphitheatre:

  2. CANDY (with Ashez)
  3. BAM BAM (with CloZee)
  5. HIGHER (with Big Gigantic and The Funk Hunters)
  6. JELLY 
  8. ON YOUR SIDE (with Russ Liquid)
  11. DUSTY BUGS (with Vorso)
  12. BASH PLATE (with Ashez)
  13. ENDLESS DREAM (with Z.I.V & MOONZz )
  14. FALLING (with Deathpact) 
  15. SNORKLE 

Bonus Tracks:

  2. CANDY (with Ashez)
  3. BASH PLATE (with Ashez)


Follow Opiuo:


Press Release

Related Posts